Make your own free website on


Deadline May 05, 2007


Announcing the Seisoh Sukemune/Bruce Bain Encouragement of Early Career Research Award 2006 - 2007


Awarded by the International Council of Psychologists (ICP)



The Award for Research in International Psychology recognizes outstanding early career contributions to scholarly endeavors addressing psychological issues of a universal or multinational significance. It is designed to encourage research that systematically addresses the psychological dimensions effecting the quality of human life, and to enhance and reinforce the mission and goals of ICP. For the purpose of this award, “research” is broadly defined to include all paradigms of scholarly endeavor, such as laboratory experiments, field experiments, field studies, correlation and evaluation studies, historical studies and case histories. The recipient is expected to give an address at the ICP annual convention that relates to his/her research.

Criteria for eligibility

The recipient must be a psychologist (including a student).

Paper selection criteria:

The paper’s logic. it’s purpose, it’s methodology, it’s universal or multinational significance, contribution to the development of international psychology, and contribution to the development of human well-being.

The paper must be written by a single author.

Submission procedure & requirements

Candidates should submit a paper and a cover letter by e-mail (to or air mail (address see below) to Prof. Dietrich Albert, Chair of the ICP Research Awards Committee, not later than May 05, 2007

Prof. Dr. Dietrich Albert

Chair of the ICP Research Awards Committee

c/o Department of Psychology

University of Graz

Universitaetsplatz 2

A 8010 Graz


Tel.: +43 316 380-5118 (-5104, -8541)

Fax: +43 380- 9806 (-9809)

Email address:

The notice of selection: June 12, 2007.


Paper and application must meet the following requirements

1. The research must be based primarily on the candidate’s own work, and must be considered distinguished. There can be only one author of the paper (papers of joint authors are not accepted). The author’s age should not exceed 35 years (maximum).

2. The paper must not have been published elsewhere, but may be based on the applicant’s unpublished bachelor, master, diploma or dissertation research.

3. The paper must be prepared in the style and format specified for journal articles by APA (Publication Manual). The paper must be written by a single author.

4. The length of the paper is limited to 25 typed, double-spaced pages (maximum), including abstract, references, figures and tables.

5. Either one attached file (by e-mail) or four printed copies (by airmail) of the paper is/are to be submitted, accompanied by a cover letter which provides the following information: (a) Title of the paper, author’s name, institutional affiliation, mailing address, telephone and fax numbers, and email address. (b) Applicant’s curriculum vitae (CV). (c) at least two letters of support which stipulate why the applicant is deserving of the award (d) A statement signed (electronically or by hand) by the candidate applying for the award certifying that: (1) The material presented is original and is primarily the candidate’s own work, and the material has not been previously published; (2) additionally, if the paper is judged to be the winner of the competition, the candidate agrees to present it at the next annual convention of ICP.



Main selection procedure

1. The Research Awards  Committee evaluates papers according to a standard point system.

2. The Chair assures that results are reported to the Board.


The prize for the winning the research award will consist of

-a plaque

-US$ 200.00

-an invitation to present the research at the next ICP convention

-There will be no registration charge at the next ICP convention

(registration waived)

Note: The next ICP convention will be held in August 11-14, 2007, in San Deiego, CA, USA.

Research Awards Committee Members

Dietrich Albert (Chair, Austria)

Cecilia Cheng (Hong Kong; China)

Edith Grotberg (U.S.A.)                              

Sarlito Sarwono (Indonesia)

Past Winners

The 1999-2000 winner was Dr. Cecilia Cheng, Division Social Science, The Hong Kong University: Social Relations and

Psychological Distress: Toward a variability approach to subclinical depression.

The 2000-2001 winner was Dr. Ng Aik Kwang, Nanyang Technological University,

Singapore: Why creators are dogmatic people, “nice” people are not creative, and creative people

are not “nice.”

The 2001-2002 winner was Ms. Yumi Suzuki, Nagoya University, Japan: Cross-cultural

comparability in the relationship of attribution for academic success and failure with self-esteem and


The 2002-2003 winner was Ms. Serena Cheng, Institute of Ethnology, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan: Different voices

from two Asian nations : Social relationships among Taiwanese and Japanese college students.

(The 2003-2004 winner: none)

The 2004 -2005 winner was Ms. Mikayo Ando, Health Science Laboratory, Gakugei University, Tokyo, Japan: Psychological Factors and the Impact of Intervention on Japanese Adolescent Aggressive Behaviors.